Highlights, tweets from Jalen Hurts, Nick Sirianni’s evening at Maxwell Gala

Nick Sirianni, head coach, Philadelphia Eagles, Jalen Hurts, #1, Philadelphia Eagles (Photo by Gregory Shamus/Getty Images)
Nick Sirianni, head coach, Philadelphia Eagles, Jalen Hurts, #1, Philadelphia Eagles (Photo by Gregory Shamus/Getty Images) /

Well, things didn’t end how we would have hoped. There’s an understatement, huh? But, despite a crushing loss that probably won’t age well, the 2022-2023 Philadelphia Eagles gave us a season to remember and seemingly re-wrote the record books every time we looked up. Every week, we were told about how they had accomplished something that had never been done before. Every week, Jalen Hurts and Nick Sirianni silenced the doubters.

On the night of the NFL Honors, Jalen didn’t win the NFL’s MVP trophy. Nick Sirianni wasn’t named Coach of the Year. There’s an old saying though. “Keep working. Keep grinding. You never know who’s watching”. This week, The Maxwell Football Club held its 86th annual gala on March 9th, and QB1 and Coach Sirianni earned some well-deserved recognition.

Jalen Hurts wins The Bert Bell Award and Nick Sirianni claims the Greasy Neale Award at the Maxwell Football Awards Gala.

Jalen Hurts is about to become a very wealthy man. Nick Sirianni, if he can keep the momentum going, is going to be one of the most respected coaches in the NFL for a very long time. Both are probably still thinking about February’s Super Bowl loss. That’s just how they’re wired, but almost one full month later, they were able to take a night off, smile, and appreciate their accomplishments.

Since 1935, the Maxwell Football Club has honored the game we all love and, seemingly, can’t get enough of. Who better to tell you about their history than their official website? Here’s an excerpt.

"The Maxwell Football Club has had over three-quarters of a century selecting the promising talent of tomorrow with educated accuracy. Recognizing talented players at the earliest stages of their careers has been a Maxwell standard… The Maxwell Football Club is the first organization to honor football from beginner to professional… The Maxwell Football Club first presented its namesake award in 1937. In 1959, following the death of its founder Bert Bell, The Maxwell Football Club’s Professional Player of the Year Award was instituted and christened the Bert Bell Trophy. The inaugural presentation of the Jim Henry Award to the Tri-State High School Player of the Year in 1985 and the addition of The National High School Player in 2007, the Maxwell Football Club solidified its status as the preeminent organization with a keen view of excellence at all levels of football."

Jalen Hurts won the Bert Bell Award. Nick Sirianni was awarded the Greasy Neale Award.

The Bert Bell Award is presented to the Maxwell Club’s player of the year in the National Football League and is named in honor of Bert Bell, the former commissioner of the NFL and founder of the Maxwell Club.

The Greasy Neale Award is given to the NFL’s top head coach. It’s named after Earle “Greasy” Neale who coached from 1915 to 1950. He led the Philadelphia Eagles from 1941 until 1950, and he won two NFL Championships (1948, 1949).

Check out some of the highlights.

One of the queens of soul even took some time out to show her support. Jalen Hurts’ favorite artist is Anita Baker. It appears that she is a fan of his as well!

Now, what more needs to be said after that? Congratulations again to Nick Sirianni and Jalen Hurts. You both don’t always receive the credit you deserve, but “Keep working. Keep grinding. You never know who’s watching”.