Former Eagles land on Pro Football Hall of Fame modern-era semifinalists list

Eric Allen and Ricky Watters are one step closer to football immortality.
Philadelphia Eagles v Washington Redskins
Philadelphia Eagles v Washington Redskins / Mitchell Layton/GettyImages

We've seen some very good players don the kelly and midnight green of our Philadelphia Eagles. Every era gives birth to more legends, but it's guys like Harold Carmichael and Brian Dawkins that remind us why we fell in love with this team in the first place. Trust us on this, Birds fans aren't the only football enthusiasts who have admired their gifts. That's why their busts sit in Canton, Ohio.

The final Tuesday of November brings good news. Two more members of the Eagles fraternity are one step closer to football immortality.

The Pro Football Hall of Fame announced 25 modern-era semifinalists for the Class of 2024, and something tells us that many of you will smile when you see two of the guys who are included.

Eric Allen and Ricky Watters take another step toward Hall of Fame induction.

Eric Allen spent seven years in an Eagles jersey. During that time, he was named First-team All-Pro (1989) and a member of the Pro Football Writers of America's All-Rookie Team (1988). He received two Second-Team All-Pro designations (1991, 1993). Five of his six Pro Bowl nods came in Eagles green (1989, 1991–1995). We've spent years trying to figure out why he hasn't been enshrined already.

Watch this clip. Appreciate the beauty.

The Eric Allen Lovefest continues!

One of the more underrated moments/comebacks in the Eagles database. The Jets got out in front early.. Randall left the game with an injury, and late in the game, Eric Allen came through for his team.. Just appreciate the beauty!

Posted by Inside The Iggles on Monday, July 18, 2022

Ricky Watters wasn't an Eagle long, six years to be exact. There was that 'For who? For what?' thing, but he has long since been forgiven for that.

Watters earned two of his five Pro Bowl nods in midnight green. Both he and Allen are among the 25 modern-era semifinalists that are one step closer to induction.

Here's the full list:

  • Eric Allen, CB
  • Jared Allen, DE
  • Willie Anderson, T
  • Tiki Barber, RB
  • Anquan Boldin, WR
  • Jahri Evans, G
  • London Fletcher, LB
  • Dwight Freeney, DE
  • Antonio Gates, TE
  • Eddie George, RB
  • James Harrison, LB
  • Rodney Harrison
  • Devin Hester, PR/KR/WR
  • Torry Holt, WR
  • Andre Johnson, WR
  • Robert Mathis, DE/LB
  • Julius Peppers, DE
  • Steve Smith Sr., WR
  • Fred Taylor, RB
  • Darren Woodson, S
  • Patrick Willis, LB
  • Vince Wilfork, DT
  • Reggie Wayne, WR
  • Ricky Watters, RB
  • Hines Ward, WR

The list of semifinalists was announced live Tuesday on NFL Network and was reduced from an initial group of 173 nominees that were announced in September. The current group will be reduced again to 15 finalists before final voting begins. The 2024 Hall of Fame class will be announced in February.

Allen has been named a semifinalist four times (2021-2024). He's a member of the Philadelphia Eagles 75th Anniversary Team and the franchise's Hall of Fame. We're hoping he gets in this time.