Former Eagles Brian Dawkins and Terrell Owens are HOF finalists


Stop us if you’ve heard this one before. Former Philadelphia Eagles Terrell Owens and Brian Dawkins are finalists for NFL Hall of Fame enshrinement.

If it sounds like a familiar refrain, don’t be alarmed. That’s exactly what it is. Former Philadelphia Eagles safety Brian Dawkins is, once again, a finalist for enshrinement into the Pro Football Hall of Fame. Joining him on the list is former Eagles wide receiver and teammate Terrell Owens.

For Dawkins, it’s the second straight year he’s been named as a finalist. For Owens, it’s the third year in a row.

Let’s take a walk down ‘memory lane’.

Here’s a little something about Owens.

Though Owens’ contributions to the Eagles organization aren’t as lengthy as those of the man many Eagles fans refer affectionately to as ‘Dawk’, he’ll forever hold a place in the hearts of the fan base. He’s the man who, along with former Eagles quarterback Donovan McNabb, breathed life into a dead passing attack as Owens caught 14 touchdown passes (a team record) in 2004. Owens would get injured in Week 15, but after ignoring the advice of doctors, he played in Super Bowl 39.

Philadelphia Eagles
Philadelphia Eagles /

Philadelphia Eagles

That was just weeks after severely spraining his ankle, fracturing his fibula, undergoing surgery and having a screw inserted into his leg. The Eagles came up short against the New England Patriots, but that doesn’t take away from the heroism Owens displayed on that day.

Let’s talk about ‘Weapon X’.

All Dawkins did in 16 seasons of NFL football (13 in Philly) was record 1,131 tackles, 26 sacks, 37 interceptions, 36 forced fumbles and he even found his way into the end zone twice.

In the minds of some, he was snubbed by the voters, and many feel that the spot given to kicker Morten Andersen should have been his. Honestly, we at Inside The Iggles agree, but regardless of what side you’re on, you have to agree on one thing. Both Dawkins and Owens will find their way into Canton, Ohio one day.

If they’re going to be announced as the newest members of this exclusive fraternity on Saturday, February 3rd, they’re going to have to beat out some stiff competition. Other finalists include wide receivers Randy Moss and Isaac Bruce. There’s another safety that you may have heard of, John Lynch. There are two cornerbacks who were pretty good, Everson Walls and Ty Law.  Then, you have to throw in offensive tackles Tiny Boselli and Joe Jacoby. The rest of the list includes guys like center Kevin Mawae and guards Steve Hutchinson and Alan Faneca.

Next: 3 Takeaways from Doug Pederson’s press conference

Oh, then there’s running back Edgerrin James and linebackers Ray Lewis and Brian Urlacher. Did we mention that the competition was tough? Truthfully, it sounds like a few guys that you might want to pick up for your Madden Ultimate Team franchise.

That, however, is another story for another day.