Philadelphia Eagles 15 best wins from 2010 to 2019

Nick Foles; Mandatory Credit Imagn Images photo pool
Nick Foles; Mandatory Credit Imagn Images photo pool /
11 of 16

player. 54. . . . Week 15, 2017: Eagles 43, Rams 35. 6

This is the game where everything changed for the Philadelphia Eagles, both in the 2017 season and, more importantly, on a historic level. This is where the championship run officially began. In Week 15 of the 2017 NFL season, Carson Wentz and Jared Goff gave everyone a glimpse of the NFC’s future. This was going to be the first matchup of many between two young lions that would duel for a long time.

At least that’s what we all thought at the time.

A 10-2 Eagles team was coming off of a 24-10 primetime loss to the Seattle Seahawks. The Rams had won six of their last seven and were enjoying a two-game winning streak. Philly and L.A. went blow for blow, but the Eagles lost Carson Wentz for the game and the season in the third quarter thanks to an MCL and ACL tear.

In stepped a familiar face, Nick Foles, and this franchise would be changed forever.

The Eagles had already lost Jason Peters, Jordan Hicks, and Darren Sproles for the season, but they wouldn’t lose the game on this day.

Nick Foles wasn’t great, but he was good enough, completing six passes on ten passing attempts including one that put the Eagles in position for a go-ahead touchdown. L.A.’s last-second comeback attempt died as a series of lateral passes as their final led to a fumble that was returned by Brandon Graham for one more touchdown.

The Eagles had won the NFC East in what was perhaps the most bittersweet division-clinching win in franchise history. NFL fans everywhere are still waiting on the second game between the top two picks in 2016’s draft.