Eagles will operate financially under a new salary cap in 2023

Howie Roseman, Philadelphia Eagles (Photo by Mitchell Leff/Getty Images)
Howie Roseman, Philadelphia Eagles (Photo by Mitchell Leff/Getty Images) /

As great as this season has been and as hard as we’ve tried to stay in the moment and avoid the temptation of looking too far ahead, it’s been nearly impossible to do. Here’s a confession. We started thinking about the Super Bowl in Week 18. We knew the Philadelphia Eagles had earned a bye week. We knew they would win in the Divisional Round and the NFC Championship Game regardless of who the opponent was. We’ve played out the scenario of Nick Sirianni, Howie Roseman, Jalen Hurts, and Jeffrey Lurie hoisting the Vince Lombardi Trophy in our minds constantly. Unfortunately, it’s then that we often taste something bittersweet.

With Philly needing to make decisions on 20 impending free agents at season’s end (and what needs to be done about Jalen Hurts’ extension), there’s this thought that we can’t shake. There’s no way that this team stays together as correctly constructed, right?

Hold those horses! The NFL just made an announcement. Maybe this will help.

The Eagles and the rest of the NFL will operate under a raised salary cap number in 2023.

Per Tom Pelissero of NFL Network, league offices informed him and Ian Rapoport on Monday, January 30th that all 32 franchises will have their salary cap set at $224.8 million per club. That’s a record number.

As Pelissero also states, that number is up from the then-record $208.2 million figure we saw in 2022. The cap sat at $182.5M in 2021 due to a COVID-19 adjustment) and 198.2M in 2020 after sitting at $188.2M during the 2019 season.

Guys like James Bradberry, C.J. Gardner-Johnson, and Miles Sanders will get paid somewhere. The question is this. Will they be paid by the Eagles or another team? While this doesn’t answer that question, it certainly helps.

With the added $16.6, Howie Roseman has a little more wiggle room. First things first. Let’s hope the Eagles claim those Super Bowl rings first.