Eagles predicted to keep 20-year NFC East streak alive

Streaks are common in the NFL. Some we like, and some we don't. Hopefully, this one is working in the Eagles' favor.
Jalen Hurts, Philadelphia Eagles
Jalen Hurts, Philadelphia Eagles / Richard Rodriguez/GettyImages

Watch the Philadelphia Eagles long enough, and you'll begin noticing something. It doesn't even matter how long you have been watching. Streaks are just part of the deal.

We like some streaks. Winning streaks and Jason Kelce's consecutive string of starts for our Philadelphia Eagles come to mind. Some streaks are interesting, but they won't ruin your day like Philly's refusal to draft a linebacker in Round 1. That hasn't happened in any NFL Draft since 1979.

No, Nolan Smith doesn't count in our book. We love him, but he's an edge rusher.

Some streaks we can do without, losing streaks for instance. Now and again though, a good streak can work out in your favorite team's favor, including one we're certain you've heard as a Birds fan.

Pro Football Focus believes the NFC East won't have a repeat champion for a 20th straight season.

You've heard this often while watching NFC East football. This division hasn't had a repeat champion for 19 seasons. Pro Football Focus tried their hand at picking division winners way too early. Their guess? The streak continues for a 20th.

Trevor Sikkema is the writer of this one. Here's his explanation.

"The Eagles’ 2023 season was very strange. In fact, I’ve never seen a 10-1 team with worse vibes than Philly after Week 12. That all came spiraling down as the Eagles lost six of their last seven games to end the season, their last at the hands of the Buccaneers in the wild-card round of the playoffs.

If they can turn the page, they are still the most talented team in the division. The Cowboys — who won the division in 2023 — are certainly in the mix, but it’s a question of where they are mentally after their own postseason collapse.

Dallas quarterback Dak Prescott played like an MVP throughout the regular season. His 89.8 passing grade was second only to Tua Tagovailoa, and his 73.5 passing grade under pressure ranked first among his peers. A repeat of that caliber of a season will surely put the division within reach, even if Philly was to bounce back.

Here's a look at the last 19 winners:

2005: New York Giants
2006: Philadelphia Eagles
2007: Dallas Cowboys
2008: Giants
2009: Cowboys
2010: Eagles
2011: Giants
2012: Washington
2013: Eagles
2014: Cowboys
2015: Washington
2016: Cowboys
2017: Eagles
2018: Cowboys
2019: Eagles
2020: Washington
2021: Cowboys
2022: Eagles
2023: Cowboys

Philly won four consecutive NFC East crowns from 2001 to 2004. It's time to turn the tide back in their favor. First things first though. They have to win the division this season (and hopefully accomplish more once that's done in the postseason).

Philly appeared to be in great shape to break the jinx before last season's collapse. We place that behind us. We're moving on to the coming regular season.

Read more Eagles news and notes